Immitation Isn’t Always Flattery

Recently I came across a website called iBeautyTips.com (the URL omits the “s”, funny enough). I had Googled a specific company, looking for reviews from other people, and spotted the site. What grabbed my attention, though, was that the little text preview sounded awfully familiar….

It sounded familiar because they had reblogged my review of said company. In fact, they’ve reblogged a good deal of my stuff, from mail call posts, to contests, to rants and other reviews.

I wasn’t so offended until I realized that nothing linked back to my blog or mentioned me being the author.

On June 25th, I sent an email through the contact form at the site, after finding that the “about me” page is blank, save from some ads.

Hi, I own https://sparklecrack.wordpress.com/, and I’ve noticed that your site contains a significant amount of content from my blog. I can’t find any credits to myself as the original author of my content, so I am wondering if you copy content from RSS feeds, only reblog other bloggers’ work, et cetera. Thanks.

Of course, I haven’t received a response, but multiple posts continue to go live each day.

The majority of beauty bloggers invest a lot of time (and sometimes money) into their blog(s). It’s disrespectful to jump on the bandwagon to make some money through add clicks and use their hard work to do it.

~ by shatteredshards on June 30, 2010.

6 Responses to “Immitation Isn’t Always Flattery”

  1. You might want to check your RSS feed and set it so that it sends out an excerpt only, not an entire post. That just makes it easier for the content scrapers to snag your posts and re-use them.

    • Something I hadn’t thought of – thank you!

    • Funny enough, I just checked my feed and I do have excerpts. :D

      • There’s always reporting their accounts to Google or whomever (or even better – to the companies whose ads are running on their site.) Google doesn’t run on a CPC model, it runs on a bidding model – so a company might be paying for these ads to run on these spam-sites. Google won’t necessarily do anything, because they make money either way. But tell enough advertisers that Google’s game is rotten…you can bet they’ll start policing things better.

        So you might have to do a multi-pronged attack (the blog maintainer, the blog host, the ad company, and the companies placing the ads), but cc:ing emails is easy enough. Letting them all know, and letting them know that the other parties also know, is probably your best bet.

        …actually, now that I think about it, there’s probably a government board in charge of regulating advertising, isn’t there? Adding them to the cc: list can’t possibly hurt…

  2. That’s really odd. O_o

  3. that’s horrifying. i wonder if there’s anything else you can do… (sorry, not helpful, just comiserating)

Leave a Reply

 
