Anti-Review: Mae Minerals

I’ll be honest; I don’t think I’ve ever heard of this company. Ever. Recently I received an automatic email that their Twitter account had started following mine, so I went to check out their website.

Repacker.

That’s all there is to it. Maybe their bath & body products are original, but the (now discontinued) TKB Pops! micas showing up right away in the Twitter page logo and the website is never a good sign. I wish I were kidding, but Raspberry, Strawberry, Tangerine, Lemon Drop, Apple Green, Blueberry, and Grape are all there under the “Lollipops” moniker, some with slightly different fruit names.

The majority of the eye and multi-use powders strike me as familiar, too, but the photography is of such questionable quality (no swatches, either) that it’s hard to pin them down to the proper TKB micas. The astounding lack of color descriptions doesn’t help, of course, and neither does the absence of an ingredients list.

I’ll more or less leave honest repackers alone (BFTE, for example, sells micas as “Primary Pigments” and states they are not custom colors). So I looked for the about page (which, by the way, took a moment as the website’s navigation is poorly designed), and when I found it, all bets were off.

I am a work-at-home mom to 6 children and run the company from my home. I mix all of our minerals by hand and only use the highest quality ingredients.

If by mix you mean add some base and dump it in a jar, okay.

90% of our minerals are formulated using our own recipes that we’ve developed over the last 5 years. The other 10% are custom blended using bases from several reputable suppliers.

All of our shades are unique to Mae Minerals™ and we are constantly adding new shades.

Oohhhh.

I’m a bit miffed that this company started following me. Did they see me tweet information about the Orglamix scandal, and just run with it? Or did they see that I follow other indie makeup companies and decide I might be interested in them? Either way, I doubt they realized I’m a blogger, and if they did, they must not have realized that I’m fairly knowledgeable in repackaging, mmu ingredients, and ripoffs.

Edit 07/23/22: Grey of Gothique posted an actual review for them here that backs up a good deal of my suspicions.

~ by shatteredshards on April 5, 2011.

7 Responses to “Anti-Review: Mae Minerals”

  1. Just a couple of additional observations about this shop:

    Duuuuuude. $12 for a full size? And you’re not even telling me how much I get for that price…

    Also, does this:

    “And don’t forget to let your consultant know when you get your free sample!”
    Link: http://maeminerals.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=214

    mean that they have Avon-style commission sales going on? Or does it mean something else?

    Aside:
    Not that commission sales is a big deal – I notice that http://www.theallnaturalface.com have them too with their “Become a Consultant” programme. I know their products may not be the most original and their website needs to be put on a word count diet, but I do like the quality and UBER CHEAP prices of their eyeshadows.

    • Yeah, it does look like they have an Avon Lady-type thing. The messed up part? When I was looking last night, the website says the company was founded in 2006, but then I was looking at a rep’s page and she said the company was founded in 2004. Huh?

      I didn’t even see pictures of full-size jars on the site. I couldn’t find an ingredients list, I couldn’t find much of anything.

  2. Hmph, I think I see Pisces Blue in there too. And she doesn’t seem to give much information on the products either. There are so many repackagers, but I will never understand how they think it’s just fine and dandy >.<

  3. All I have to say is LOL

  4. Ok first of all I don’t know what site you were on but they do supply The ingredients right on the site in many places! I often wonder how great a product is when someone in the same “biz” feels the need to bash another company! All you really end up doing is making yourself look worse as for the 10+ years I’ve used this make up ive never heard the owner bash any other mineral make up companies!!! There will always be similarities as this product can only be made so many ways! I also know for a fact that the owner hand makes each order, so don’t speculate what you don’t know! This makeup is extremely awesome to your skin, I can fall into bed, forget to take my makeup off & my face doesn’t break out or get irritated!!!
    Stick to things you know instead of speculation…she probably unfollowed you because your ignorant! Wouldn’t use any other make up & all her ingredients are in a few places on the site so again no idea where your looking! How about you all go back to your real lives & stop being computer junkies & followers.

    • First of all, it says something that you didn’t realize that you just posted this comment on a blog entry that was written over a year ago.

      Secondly, it says something that you didn’t realize that this blog hasn’t been maintained since last year, as I moved to self hosting.

      Third, I have absolutely no idea what you’re on about “people in the biz bashing other companies” or Mae bashing other companies. Maybe you’re reading a completely different blog than the one I wrote?

      Fourth, the now present ingredient listings show that base ingredients are not being added to the micas. I don’t see how lack of a properly-blended product is supposed to convince me that the products are properly blended.

      Fifth, how, exactly, have you been using this makeup for “10+ years” if the company was only founded in 2006, according to the website?

      Lastly, your means you own something, you’re means you are. You have no right to call anyone ignorant if you don’t have a basic grasp on elementary school grammar.

Leave a Reply

 
