Review: CoverGirl LashBlast Volume mascara

Before Purchase: I spotted an entire thread on a popular makeup forum dedicated to LashBlast, and most of the people commenting were saying they love it. My staple tube of mascara, MAC Zoom Lash, is going bad, so I figured it was a good time to try the LashBlast.

Price: I purchased a tube for around $7 USD at Target, but if you keep an eye out you might spot specially-priced twin packs or manufacturer coupons.

Packaging: All of the LashBlast mascaras seem to have the wands with little silicone teeth, versus traditional bristle spoolies. They are packaged with a temporary cap on the tube, so that you can see exactly what the wands looks like. Also, keep an eye open for the major difference – waterproof versions have a black wand with teeth that match the color of the tube, but the regular versions have the color-matching wand with black teeth.

Ingredients: Listed on the back of the blisterpack, they are as follows: water, glyceryl stearate, ammonium acrylates copolymer, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene glycol, stearic acid, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, triethanolamine, acrylates copolymer, synthetic wax, polyvinyl alchohol, lethicin, propylene carbonate, polythylene, oleic acid, alchohol denat., benzyl alchohol, glycerin, xanthan gum, panthenol, phenoxyethanol, propylparaben, methylparaben, ethylparaben, sodium laureth sulfate, trisodium edta, simethicone, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, iron oxides. May contain titanium dioxide, ultramarines.

The Product:

LashBlast Volume vs. MAC Zoom Lash

The thing that’s most visible in the photos is the LashBlast seemed to curl my lashes. It’s not marketed as a curling mascara at all that I’ve seen, only that it’s volumizing.

On the other hand, MAC Zoom Lash is.

This instant volume mascara power-lifts the lashes into length, curls them up…builds them faster than you can wink! Precision control wand glides smoothly down lashes to provide a gorgeously silky upward “sweep”. Smudgeproof and long-wearing!
– from maccosmetics.com

Look the photos again – the LashBlast delivers on all of the things Zoom Lash is supposed to, yet Zoom Lash is sold for almost twice the price ($13 USD). I didn’t use a curler, I didn’t use primers, I didn’t even use a lash comb and the LashBlast looks that good. Zoom Lash, on the other hand, looks mighty darn…blah.

The wear is pretty good, too; after a long night at work, it didn’t even flake off and onto my face. If I intentionally rub my eyes, the Zoom Lash flakes off pretty quick, but the LashBlast seems to hold better.

When I go though this tube, I’ll probably be trying the waterproof version. With the cold winters here, my eyes water up when I go outside, and I haven’t noticed it running or smearing yet, but I need to see what happens when my eyes water badly.

My only complaint is it seems like a lot of mascara builds up on the very tip of the wand when I pull it out of the tube, so I need to either kind of wipe it off or be very careful while applying.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes.
  • Would I purchase LashBlast Volume again? Yes.
  • Rating? 4.5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on January 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Review: CoverGirl LashBlast Volume mascara”

  1. Loved how detailed and precise this review is. Thanks for taking pictures and doing the comparison with each. Very, very helpful. I enjoy reading your blog!

Leave a comment