Review: Ardell Brow & Lash Growth Accelerator

Before Purchase: I stumbled across this while looking at false lashes. I googled reviews and didn’t really see any negative ones; everything was a claim that this was a great product. I didn’t think I had much to lose at the price, and being that the it’s applied directly to the lashes like a mascara I was willing to give it a shot (I have concerns about the ones that apply to the lashline).

Price: I paid $3.25 USD at Madame Madeline.

Packaging: Growth Accelerator comes in a clear tube with a spoolie wand, just like mascara. The tube comes in a blister pack.

Ingredients: Water, paeonia suffruticosa extract, panthenol, polytetrafluoroethylene, hydrolyzed soy protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein, VP/DMAPA acrylates copolymer, polyquaternium 37, propylene glycol dicaprylate dicaprate, PPG-1 trideceth-6, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, DMDM hydantoin.

The Product: I decided to do a four-week trial with the accelerator, applying it to both my lashes and my brows; most comments I was seeing claimed a noticeable difference in about two weeks. Admittedly I forgot to apply it three nights in that time frame, but that shouldn’t matter in the overall scheme, right?

Ardell Growth Accelerator month trial

There you have it. I took the photos on Thursday morning each week (one week was Friday morning), attempting to keep them as similar as possible. But it’s hard to notice a difference, right?

Ardell Growth Accelerator trial results

It’s so hard to notice a difference because there isn’t one. After taking the final photos and comparing them, I realized that next to nothing was happening and promptly stopped bothering with the accelerator.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? No.
  • Would I purchase Ardell Growth Accelerator again? No, nor will I likely purchase any other lash growth product.
  • Rating? 0.5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on February 11, 2011.

5 Responses to “Review: Ardell Brow & Lash Growth Accelerator”

  1. Bummer. I’m so skeptical about all these lash growing shit thingies… I feel like it’s just the new fad that doesn’t actually work. Like fad diets.

    • Well, the ones that you apply directly to your lash line usually work by messing with the blood vessels and stuff around your lashes, so that the lashes don’t fall out as quickly, thus growing longer.

      The ones that apply to the lashes themselves I see little point in. It’s just like the hair ontop of your head, it’s dead and there’s only so much you can do with it. I was skeptic, but figured, at worst, I’d be out $3.

  2. Another girls review said she applied it twice daily and that she made sure to get it really close to her lash line. Your review doesn’t say exactly how you applied it. I’m hoping that when I get my Ardell purchase that it might have better results. Thanks for the info though.

    • I followed the package instructions, which are as follows:

      “Use nightly. After cleansing, brush on to lashes and/or brows. Leave on all night.”

      I wouldn’t have done it more than that, to be honest, because it irritated my eyes and lashline as it was; I have never had my lashline actually ache before.

  3. Thank you so much for posting your trial with pictures! I was just getting ready to buy some of this when I thought I should research further. (I read the reviews on Amazon.com, but truly, they seemed to good to be true.) Glad I searched further and found your site.

Leave a comment