Review: CoverGirl LashBlastFusion Mascara

Before Purchase: I realized I was due for a new tube of mascara and had a CoverGirl coupon. I figured I would give the Fusion formula a shot, to see how it compared to the Volume formula (which is what I currently use).

Price: Ulta sells it for $8.99 USD, but the Target two blocks away had it at $7.99 USD. In my experience, Target runs the cheapest on the LashBlasts compared to Ulta and Walgreens.

Packaging: It’s the same as the other LashBlast mascaras; a blister card with the wand openly displayed next to the tube of mascara, and the tube having a temporary cap. The Fusion formula comes in a purple tube, while Volume is orange, Luxe is pinkish red, and Length is yellow.

Note that the waterproof formulas only look slightly different: the blister card will have a few blue water drops on it, and the wand bristles will be black on a colored core, while regular formula has colored bristles on a black core.

Ingredients: Water, glyceryl stearate, ammonium acrylates copolymer, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene glycol, stearic acid, alcohol denat., copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, triethanolamine, synthetic wax, acrylates copolymer, polyvinyl alcohol, lecithin, propylene carbonate, polyethylene, oleic acid, benzyl alcohol, nylon-6, ascorbyl palmitate, tocopherol, glycerin, panthenol, glycine soja (soybean) oil, simethicone, xanthan gum, silica, ethylparaben, sodium laureth sulfate, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, propylparaben, trisodium edta. May contain: titanium dioxide, ultramarines, black 2, iron oxides.

The Product:

LashBlastFusion vs. LashBlastVolume

Where to begin…the first coats don’t even compare. I’ve gone through a couple tubes of the Volume formula now, both in regular and waterproof, and the first application was just as good as ones later on. I did the first coat of Fusion first, and I was disappointed. I couldn’t tell much of a difference between the mascara side and the bare side.

Then I did the first coat of Volume and my disappointment grew; it looked like at least two coats in comparison to the Fusion side. So I added a second coat of Fusion, but my lashes just seemed to get clumpy.

Clump and visiblity issues asside, I noticed no difference in length. The whole thing about the Fusion formula is it’s supposed to be “volume + lenth,” but in comparison to what? The light ends of my lashes that nobody else sees without mascara? I don’t need a fancy formula to make them more visible, I just need any kind of mascara!

On another note, now I remember why I bought the waterproof Volume last time; the Fusion ran down my face pretty fast once I got a little water on it. The mascara came completely off with no makeup remover or soap, just water, while the Volume side wouldn’t budge. It’s great if you’re lazy about taking your makeup off, but I’m not, and I also have eyes that water easily (especially in the cold winter weather).

Why the heck would I pay almost a dollar more for Fusion when I prefer the results of Volume? In fact, I’m going to try exchanging it for a tube of Volume.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Not really.
  • Would I purchase LashBlastFusion again? Maybe, if they release a waterproof formula, but it’s looking unlikely; Fusion has already been out for awhile.
  • Rating? 3 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on January 7, 2011.

Leave a comment