Review: I Touch Roses

Before Ordering: I Touch Roses is actually a company I had never heard of until I saw mention in Phyrra’s blog, though they’ve been around since at least early 2009. Excited by the color chart on the website, I spent more time than I care to admit narrowing down which colors I wanted to try.

What I Ordered: Samples of the following eyeshadows: Best Friend, Drunk, Envy, Fantastic, Mist, Midnight Sky, Moody, No Slogan, Sacrifice, Sweet Love, Surreal, TFH, To The Core, Trooper, and Universe. I also ordered a 5g jar of Tarot eyeshadow.

Shipping Time: I placed my order on January 23rd, received a shipping notice on January 25th, and received my order on January 28th.

Packaging: My order arrived inside a bubble mailer. The sample baggies were all wrapped together in a piece of tissue paper that was sealed with a logo sticker, and the 5g jar was wrapped in a different piece of tissue paper. There was no invoice, but a handwritten note, business card with a discount code, and two extra eyeshadow samples (I Do and Midnight Sky) were included.

The sample baggies had color names written on them with a Sharpie, so I made little labels for them myself as Sharpie can rub off of baggies pretty quick. The 5g jar was square and had the color name written on one side with a gold paint pen. It had a sifter, which was sealed with a sticker (which was stamped with a rose – unexpected and cute), and seemed to be packed full.

I have to state that when I ordered, both the PayPal and website invoices failed to list any of the colors I had named for my order, due to the shopping cart the website uses. Both invoices simply list that I ordered sample sets or jars and how much I paid. This needs to either be fixed, or a paper invoice with complete order information needs to be included with orders.

Ingredients: Ingredients are given on the website as a single “may contain” list. Sample baggies do not have ingredients listed on them, nor did the 5g jar I received.

The Product:

I Touch Roses (natural light)

I Touch Roses (artificial light)

I Touch Roses (moderate flash)

While some of the colors are gorgeous, in swatching them I found a number of them to unexpectedly have black iron oxide as an ingredient. Black iron oxide is a matte black mineral that can clump and have issues with blending when used in mineral makeup; it usually becomes obvious as an ingredient once you rub the makeup on your skin in some way.

Having said that, No Slogan, Trooper, Drunk, and Envy all have black iron oxide. I only expected it in Trooper, and only because it looks like an ingredient from the product photo.

No Slogan – Medium army green with crystal shimmer.
Trooper – Dark army green with crystal shimmer.
Drunk – Metallic green with green sparkle.
Envy – Metallic emerald green.

It looks like the black iron oxide was added to colors to make them darker, however, color theory teaches an entirely different method for darkening colors, because black can easily make them dull. All in all, 9 of the 16 shades I swatched have black iron oxide, and as someone who tends to avoid it because of the blending issues, I didn’t mean to have that many.

On a different note, the shadows I got are very obviously original, and weren’t too close to ones I already have from other companies (Envy is probably my favorite, it’s just beautiful).

Customer Service: I did not contact Ahna, the owner, with any issues, but I would strongly recommend she update her color chart and descriptions. The current color chart does not picture all colors listed, but also pictures colors not listed, making it hard to tell what exactly is available for order.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Overall, I’m okay with it.
  • Would I order from I Touch Roses again? Possibly, but I would wait for a complete color chart to be posted before doing so.
  • Rating? 4 out of 5 stars.

Edit: As of March 26th, 2010 I Touch Roses has been added to my Companies I Avoid list. Please see the list for details.

~ by shatteredshards on February 20, 2010.

18 Responses to “Review: I Touch Roses”

  1. Not gonna lie, the company seems really unprofessional :( I remember being interested in the company after seeing it on Phyrra’s blog too, but their website totally turned me off. Guess I won’t be ordering from them until they master colour theory and label their products with something other than a Sharpie.

    • Sadly, I think I use Archetype as my standard for unprofessional, and just about everyone is an improvement upon them.

      • Me too!! Basically if they answer emails AND send me my product within 4 months, I think they are professional. Stupid Archetype…they have such pretty colors, so it pisses me off that they SUCK SO HARD!

  2. Great review! I’m doing a review of I Touch Roses later today, it seems to be along the same lines as yours.

  3. I originally wasn’t sure what to think of her colors until I played with them. I ordered a lot of purples and determined she does make her own colors, but I didn’t have problems with the blendability. The colors I liked best were Take Me, Siren Spell and Zodiac. I do agree that her color chart was a pain to figure out!

    • I really like Best Friend and Sacrifice, and Envy was very much an exciting color to swatch. However, Drunk/No Slogan/Trooper? A bit of a disappointment, especially when I discovered they had so much of that iron oxide. I love greens, and I’m not sure I’d use any of those 3 because they’re kinda ruddy and dull.

  4. Well, I agree with everything basically. I actually got my colors yesterday but there was some issue with shipping. I contacted Ahna and she applied fairly quickly. I ordered mostly light colors and the couple I’ve tried so far don’t transfer as well from swatches to eyes…but that may just be my weirdo lids! I’m gonna give it a week or so of testing before I post (and wait for my new camera…arg!).

    By the way, did you get your goodies today???

    • What primer do you use? I’m pretty happy with TFSI, and my eyelids are quite oily.

      My only mail today was another Aromaleigh sample order – obligatory post will be later tonight, since I got home from work not long ago and plan to go back out soon. But I will keep an eye on Monday’s delivery…did you get yours? ;)

      Also, very cute new layout on your blog! Very sparkly! *laughs*

      • I use Detrivore right now. I really want to try TFSI, but I’m allergic to UDPP so I’m a bit nervous! I’m hoping I can buy one of the trial sizes on Ebay or something! I don’t want to go for the full size until I know if it is going to make me all crazy eye-d haha!

        Bah! That sucks! I DID get mine and I’m going crazy for the glitter!! I actually used the black one over my cat eye liner today and it was AWESOME! I wish my stupid camera didn’t break so I could’ve taken pics! Hopefully you will get yours Monday for sure!

        Aw thank you! I love me some sparkles XD

        • Do you have an idea of what ingredient(s) it might be that cause your reaction? I’ve never tried UDPP myself, but I have no issues with TFSI personally. Unfortunately I think the ingredients aren’t entirely different between the two.

          UDPP: Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trihydroxystearin, Triethylhexanoin, Isopropyl Lanolate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Dimethicone, PEG-40 Stearate, Propylene Carbonate, Phenoxyethanol, Cera Alba (Synthetic Beeswax), Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Methicone, Isobutylparaben. May Contain:
          Mica, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride).

          TFSI: Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG-40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol. May Contain (+/-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

          Though I am pretty shocked at how many parabens UDPP has – holy mother of Zeus!

  5. Just a random thought, maybe Klaus is the name of her soon-to-be ex-husband? If it’s not then it’s a mystery XD

  6. Heehee I gave you a blog award

    http://eyeconicmakeup.blogspot.com/2010/02/great-new-blogs-ive-been-following.html

  7. I avoid I touch roses after I started following her on twitter and she messaged me out of the blue and after a couple of emails about her stating the repackagers on etsy she started getting really mean to me and my blog just because I could not pick from her picture which one of the about 20 other yellow colours hers was a ‘copy’ of.

    Her products might be good but attacking me and my blog when I had never spoken nor mentioned her before was way to unprofessional and it was pretty nasty what she said. So avoiding from now on.

Leave a comment