Review: Icing Sparkle Stix Eye Liner

Before Purchase: I was browsing around the Icing store at a local mall, looking more at nail polish than other cosmetics. I didn’t see much for polish, but started looking at other things since I was already there. The bright yellow green liner intrigued me, as I hadn’t seen one that color anywhere else, and I’m rather fond of green eye makeup.

Price: At the time of purchase, these pencils were stickered $3.50 USD, $4 CAD for 0.07 oz (2 g) of product (the pencil is almost 6 inches long). Icing tends to run buy one, get one half off sales and such on their cosmetics, though, and were doing so when I made my purchase.

Packaging: The pencils are sold individually, capped and shrinkwrapped. The cap color, unfortunately, is opaque, so you can’t see how the pencil actually looks before purchase. Of course, it is Icing, and you’re likely to find opened ones mixed in with the stock, but beware; I got chewed out by an employee when I found one, in spite of my telling her it was already open (and tested!) on the shelf.

Ingredients: They’re printed incredibly tiny on the pencil, in silver no less, so this is as best as I can read them: triethihrxanoin, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax (cera carnauba), euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax (candelilla cera), caprylic/capric triglyceride, polybutene, bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2, talc, cetyl palitate, tocopheryl acetate. May contain (+/-): iron oxides (CI 77499), iron oxides (CI 77491), red 40 lake (CI 16035), mica (CI 77019), titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77492), manganese violet (CI 77742), ultramarines (CI 77007), yellow 5 lake (CI 19140), ferric ferrocyanide (CI 77510), polyethylene terephthalate [note: this would be glitter], polyurethane-11, aluminum powder (CI 77000), blue 1 lake (CI 42090).

The Product:

Icing Sparkle Stix

Icing Sparkle Stix Swatch

The picture speaks for itself. You can see where the pencil crumbled onto my skin, even at the end of drawing on my hand.

Icing Sparkle Stix Quality

I’ll just ignore the fact that the silver glitter pieces are kind of big and annoying, because it wouldn’t even go on when I tried to line my eye.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? No.
  • Would I purchase Icing Sparkle Stix again? No, and I doubt I would purchase any other Icing eyeliner, either.
  • Rating? 0 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on January 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “Review: Icing Sparkle Stix Eye Liner”

  1. It`s a shame the quality was so bad,. because the colour was pretty nice!

Leave a comment