Review: Sephora Collection Nano eyeliner pencil

Before Purchase: I had looked on the website at these eyeliners, but failed to find an ingredients list for them on the item page or via Google; I have to be careful with eyeliners, because many of them contain petroleum (Urban Decay 24/7s and Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes, I’m looking at you). I then went into my local store, only to find that the display did not list ingredients, the pencil itself or its packaging did not list ingredients, and the employees could not get ingredients for me because – surprise – they have to look on Sephora.com like the rest of us.

After much hassle and crappy customer service from Sephora.com (see this post and this post), I finally decided on purchasing two pencils from my local store.

Price: I paid full price, which is $5 USD, both in stores and at Sephora.com.

Packaging: These are short pencils, but otherwise pretty standard. They are sealed in a shrink wrapper.

Ingredients:

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera Wax), Caprylic / Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Ricinoleate, CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), Cera Alba (Beeswax), Cera Carnauba (Copernicia Cerifera Wax), Cetyl Alcohol, Myristyl Myristate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Unsaponifiables, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Talc.

The Product:

Sephora Nano eyeliner (artificial light)

Sephora Nano eyeliner (artificial light)

Sephora Nano eyeliner (artificial light)

I’ll say it straight out: these are crap. They tug, they skip, they don’t soften up with use. Their performance is inconsistent at best, and forget waterlines.

I was so disappointed, I returned them both, and I don’t return cosmetics.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? No.
  • Would I purchase Sephora Collection Nano eyeliners again? No; I wouldn’t even accept these as freebies.
  • Rating? 1.5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on June 27, 2010.

7 Responses to “Review: Sephora Collection Nano eyeliner pencil”

  1. What crap… Sephora brand is so hit or miss.

  2. Ugh that sucks, especially considering how much trouble you had to go to in order to get them in the first place >=|

  3. I’m so glad you eviewed these! I’d been looking at them on the Sephora site and was tempted to try them out. Now I’m glad I didn’t. I agree with Heather. The Sephora brand is hit or miss, and you’ve saved me from yet another disappointment. I can’t stand pencils that drag or tug on my eye when applying.

  4. I have one in a deep blue color and it’s okay for me. The thing I hate is that I can not sharpen them at all! I have various eye liner pencil sharpeners and none of them fit this pencil. I then went to Sephora and grabbed their very own pencil sharpener that they sell and quickly took another nano pencil to try to see if it would fit and it wouldn’t even fit! I told the SA there and she said “It’s supposed to fit.” and just shrugged. Okayyyyyyy. Thanks.

  5. Just dropping by to say I loved your comments on LeGothique’s last post :) .

    (Oooh, what’s the name of the polish?)

Leave a comment