Review: Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil

Before Purchase: I spotted these as a new item in an Avon catalog. I researched them a little further on the Avon website before purchasing, mostly to check the ingredient lists. I attempted to find swatches via Google, but being these were new, I didn’t have any luck.

Price: I paid $4.99 each, which was an introductory price. They are currently priced at $6.00/each on the Avon website.

Packaging: These are standard eyeliner pencils that came with a plastic shrinktube over them, inside a little box. I did not receive them with any other packaging as I ordered through my Avon Lady.

Ingredients: The ingredients are not listed on the pencil or in the Avon catalogs of course, but they are listed on the Avon website, and rather completely. Department store brands (*cough*Lancôme*cough*) should take note of this and follow suit.

ISODODECANE, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, SYNTHETIC WAX, PEG/PPG-19/19 DIMETHICONE, HYDROGENATED POLYDICYCLOPENTADIENE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, NYLON-12, C20-40 ALCOHOLS, PERFLUORONONYL DIMETHICONE, SILICA, POLYGLYCERYL-4 DIISOSTEARATE/POLYHYDROXYSTEARATE/SEBACATE, POLYETHYLENE, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE, TIN OXIDE, STEARIC ACID, TOCOPHEROL

MAY CONTAIN: IRON OXIDES, MICA/CI 77019, ALUMINUM POWDER/CI 77000, TITANIUM DIOXIDE/CI 77891, ULTRAMARINES/CI 77007, CARMINE/CI 75470, FERRIC FERROCYANIDE/CI 77510, BLACK 2/CI 77266, BLUE 1 LAKE/CI 42090, MANGANESE VIOLET/CI 77742, CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS/CI 77288, CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN/CI 77289, YELLOW 5 LAKE/CI 19140, BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE/CI 77163, RED 40 LAKE/CI 16035

The Product:

These pencils currently come in four colors: Bronze, Khaki Shimmer, Plumful, and Steel.

Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil (natural light)

Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil (natural light) Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil (sunlight)

Then I washed my hands and noticed they didn’t come off completely, so I took a picture.

Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil (natural light)

Application is smooth, easy, and non-tugging, which I found surprising for an eyeliner pencil that isn’t petroleum-based. They also held up pretty well through the day.

My one complaint: these are not suitable for waterlines at all. They don’t even really apply, and what little bit of a faint line you manage won’t last long, anyhow. I was hoping these would be an alternative to Urban Decay’s 24/7 pencils or MUFE’s Aqua Eyes pencils, which are both petroleum-based and I am unable to use for that reason.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes.
  • Would I purchase Avon SuperShock eyeliner pencils again? Probably, but I would like to see a larger color selection.
  • Rating? 4 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on March 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Review: Avon SuperShock gel eye liner pencil”

  1. I am always scouting for UD type pencils… sucks they aren’t good for the waterline, but I’d still like to try these out! I love that khaki color.

    • Obviously I had already used the plum when I wrote this up, and I’m pretty meh on it, but the khaki is just gorgeous. I would love to see these in a royal or navy blue and a forest green; I’d buy ’em for sure.

  2. UD liners actually dont give any colour on my waterline at all D: so I guess these are comparable to them for me, for that reason haha

    Looks like they’d be awesome for the lower lashline or as a base though :D

Leave a comment