Review: Hi-Fi Cosmetics

Before Ordering: I had been hearing about Hi-Fi for months, and chewed on ordering for awhile. It took me some time to narrow down my order to boot.

What I Ordered: Samples of Boom Shaka Laka, Chicago, Crazy Little Thing, Deck the Halls, Distortion, Don’t Forget the Violence, Forsaken, Grinch, Rising Tide, and Teen Spirit eyeshadows, and a full-size jar of Hope.

Shipping Time: I placed my order on January 19th and received it on February 16th. From what I have read this is not a normal timeframe for Hi-Fi at all, but Veronica, the owner, updated her blog with the circumstances. The delay in shipping on this order would not keep me from ordering again.

Packaging: My order arrived in a paper mailer. Opening it up, I found the sample baggies I ordered inside one ziplock baggie, and some free samples along with a business card inside another ziplock baggie. A copy of the invoice, complete with check marks made next to my items, as well as a promotional magnet, a magnetic calendar, and a postcard with a discount code were included.

Hope was inside its own little ziplock baggie then placed inside a small organza bag, along with a pink ribbon pin made by Veronica. To clarify, Hope is a special edition color that raises money for the Keep-A-Breast Foundation and is advertised as being paired with a pin, but I wasn’t expecting it to be packaged in the organza bag, which I thought was cute.

My free samples were Buttercup, Five O’Clock, and In Bloom eyeshadows, and a little flip-top of Got the Life Lip Glaze (also inside its own little ziplock baggie).

Ingredients: Ingredients are not listed on sample baggies, but there is a “may contain” list on the bottom of full-size jars. Even better, the stickers are shiny and seem like they’re water-resistant, reducing the risk of turning the list into a wet ink blur when you set the jar down on the bathroom counter.

Ingredients are also listed as may contains within Hi-Fi’s Etsy shop, but I have heard Veronica responds to emails pretty promptly and I believe asking for specific color help should not be an issue.

The Product:

Hi-Fi Cosmetics (natural light)

Hi-Fi Cosmetics (artificial light)

Hi-Fi Cosmetics (moderate flash)

While the colors I chose are not the most complex, they are gorgeous. I kept saying “wow” as I swatched them – just look at how bright they are! Teen Spirit is unlike any color I have, the closest being Fyrinnae’s Digital Faerie, but the two are completely different! No, I cannot stop using exclamation marks!

Eyeshadow samples are 1/4 tsp, and they look like it, too, in comparison to other samples. Full-size jars are standard 5g square-side jars, packed full with a sifter.

Customer Service: I had no need to contact Veronica personally, as she posted multiple status updates on her blog and so I was not too concerned with the whereabouts of my order. Again, I have heard that she responds to emails promptly and politely, though.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes!
  • Would I order from Hi-FI again? Definately.
  • Rating? 5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on March 4, 2010.

4 Responses to “Review: Hi-Fi Cosmetics”

  1. Distortion and Buttercup look gorgeous ^_^

  2. Those are really pretty, thank for reviewing them!

  3. Oooh, Distortion and Forsaken are my kinda greens. Such lovely swatches, thank you! ^^

  4. I LOVE HI FI SO MUCH gwahgwah it’s my favorite company. Buttercup looks beautiful, I can’t remember if I got in the order I have coming soon, lol. Teen Spirit looks amazing as well. I am so excited to try the lip glazes too! I want every single thing Veronica makes…

Leave a comment