Review: Detrivore Cosmetics

Before Ordering: I’d seen positive feedback on Detrivore in other blogs as well on a makeup forum, and had been planning an order for a little while. I decided to finally place it while doing some online Christmas shopping; my plans to buy a bunch of eyeshadow for my sister worked out great with my desire to nab some samples.

What I Ordered: Samples of the following eyeshadows: Abnormal, Amazon, Brine, Dagon, Dr West, Ectoplasma, Mildew, Ophelia, Paradoxia, Putrid, and Saprophyte.

I also ordered full-size jars of the following eyeshadows for my sister: Brine, Dagon, Death Valley, Mildew, Misery, Ophelia, Paradoxia, and Saprophyte.

Shipping Time: I placed my order on December 11, 2009, and received a shipping notice on December 13th. The package itself arrived on December 17th and was shipped via First Class; that’s pretty quick for right before Christmas.

Packaging: Everything was in a larger baggie to keep it together, inside a plastic bubble mailer, and packed with a copy of the invoice. Free samples of Greed, Maw, Muse, Mushroom Blue, and Spore eyeshadows were included.

Ingredients: At the time I ordered there were no ingredients listed on the website, however, on December 21st ingredient lists were published. Each collection page has a link to the ingredient lists just after the description, and the ingredients page breaks down the list by collection. Base ingredients are listed first, followed by “may contain” ingredients and notes on a few specific colors. Ingredients were not listed on the jars or samples at the time I ordered, but this may have changed to include a note to check the site for ingredients.

The Product:

Detrivore Cosmetics (natural light)

Detrivore Cosmetics (artificial light)

The first thing I noticed is Detrivore’s samples are generous. The size isn’t listed on the site, but they are at least 1/8tsp.

The jars all came individually shrinkwrapped, with plain black lids and logo labels on the bottoms that list the color. They are standard 5g jars with sifters, and seem pretty full.

The shadows apply smoothly and seem to blend well. They also seem to wear well; I noticed very little creasing when I arrived home after being out all day (mind you, I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance for a base), and I have rather oily eyelids.

Customer Service: I had no need to contact Detrivore with any issues, but I was pretty surprised to receive so many free samples. With the exception of Maw, they are all colors I’d purchase myself, too.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes.
  • Would I order from Detrivore again? Definately.
  • Rating? 5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on January 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Review: Detrivore Cosmetics”

  1. Thanks so much for the swatches! I’ve been looking at Detrivore for some time now but have yet to order. Love the colors you got!

  2. I am glad you had a good order with Detrivore, but unfortunately mine was not the same. I wish thei customer service was better!

Leave a comment