Review: Avon Ultra-Luxury Metallic Eye Liner Pencils

Before Purchase: My mom has an Avon Lady, so I generally get Avon that way. I was looking through the new campaign books that had been dropped off when I spotted these liners. The metallic colors were new item and specially featured. Unfortunately, they were also limited edition, so about your only chance of finding them now is Ebay.

Price: These liner pencils are priced on the Avon website at $5 USD each, but Avon runs different sale prices (usually a special deal on 2 or more items) quite frequently. I got a sale on mine by purchasing them with some sort of eyeshadow sticks; if I remember correctly, I paid less than $1 for each liner pencil when buying the shadow sticks.

Packaging: The liners came capped and shrinkwrapped. I got them through our Avon Lady, so they might come in a box if you order them through the Avon website.

Ingredients: ETHYLHEXYL ISOSTEARATE, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, NEOPENTYL GLYCOL DIETHYLHEXANOATE, COPERNICIA CERIFERA (CARNAUBA) WAX/CIRE DE CARNAUBA, EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX/CIRE DE CANDELILLA, BORON NITRIDE, CERESIN, PARAFFIN, SILICA, TOCOPHEROL, ASCORBYL PALMITATE. MAY CONTAIN: IRON OXIDES, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, MICA, MANGANESE VIOLET, ULTRAMARINES, CARMINE, CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS, BLACK 2, FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, YELLOW 5 LAKE, ALUMINUM POWDER, BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE, BLUE 1 LAKE, CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN, RED 40 LAKE, ZINC OXIDE.

The Product:

Avon Ultra-Luxury Metallic pencils

Avon Ultra-Luxury Metallic swatches

And I thought that the Icing Sparkle Stix pencil was difficult; look at the turquoise! After going over it multiple times, this is the best I could get out of it. The silver and sapphire were more cooperative, the silver working the best (coincidentally, it was the only one that was actually metallic).

I did test the sapphire on my eye, which was hit and miss in itself. It wasn’t as opaque/strong as I wanted, but it did go on my waterline and stay for a couple hours. Overall, these pencils didn’t really tug and went on pretty smooth, even if they wound up more transparent than I expected.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Not really.
  • Would I purchase Ultra-Luxury liner pencils again? No, as I did a risky thing buying them with paraffin on the ingredients list (paraffin being petroleum-derived and having the potential to trigger my allergic reaction).
  • Rating? 3 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on February 25, 2011.

Leave a comment