Review: Clean & Clear Soothing Eye Makeup Remover

Before Purchase: My eye makeup remover of choice is Clinique Take the Day Off, but at $16 USD for a 4 oz bottle, I’ve been looking for cheaper alternatives. I was at Target when I spotted the Soothing Eye Makeup Remover and bought it completely on impulse.

Price: It’s sold online at shopcleanandclear.com for $7.99 USD, but I got it at my local Target for $5.49 USD regular price.

Packaging: It caught my attention because it looked very similar to Take the Day Off. I’m not sure if that was intentional by their marketing department, because Clean & Clear uses a lot of purples in their packaging, but it’s clever nonetheless.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Benzyl Alcohol, Dipropylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium chloride, Poloxamer 182, Tripotassium EDTA, Benzalkonium Chloride, Allantoin, Dipotassium Phosphate, Potassium Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract.

The Product:

The product itself works great. It took my eyeshadows, primers, liners, mascara, everything off with little fuss.

But it made my eyes sting!

Mind you, I used it just as I would Take the Day Off, and yes, that means I am careful about not getting it in my eyes. But as I held the cotton pad over each eyelid, I could feel it starting to leak into my eyes and burn. Just for clarification, my method of dampening the cotton pad is using it to cover the bottle, and then tipping it upside-down and back quickly in four different spots; I’m not soaking the pad here.

Half an hour later, even after rinsing my eyes with warm water as the instructions say to, they were still irritated.

So I tried it again the next night. I wasn’t even wearing any eye makeup, but I needed to rule out the possibility of makeup getting in my eyes and causing it. I mimicked trying to take off eyeliner and the whole nine, but my eyes weren’t irritated this time.

Taking into consideration that I tried a different eyeshadow base the first time I used this remover, in this case I think the dissolved shadow base may have been the cause of the burning.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? For the most part.
  • Would I purchase Clean & Clear Soothing Eye Makeup Remover again? If I get through the rest of the bottle without my eyes burning, yes.
  • Rating? 4 out of 5 stars.

Don’t forget to enter the TSS Sample Giveaway! Click here to enter, or here for more information.

~ by shatteredshards on January 26, 2010.

Leave a comment