Review: Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy

Before Purchase: I had seen rave after rave of Pixie Epoxy, and beauty bloggers claiming it’s a must have. When I finally sat down and made my first order from Fyrinnae, I added a sample to my shopping cart.

Price: At the time of purchase samples (approximately 1.5 mL) were $1.50 each, and are still sold at that price. Full-size tubes (10 mL) are $7.00 each.

Packaging: The sample was packed in a little pastel purple double-walled plastic jar, very different from any sample jar I’ve received before, and arrived with the lid taped down. It was almost as if to say “there’s something very special in here.”

Ingredients: Ingredients are not listed on the sample, but they are listed on the full-size tube and the website. They are as follows:

Glycerin (vegetable derived), Purified Water (Aqua), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Silica, Acrylamide/Ammonium acrylate copolymer, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide, Potassium Sorbate.

The Product:

Pixie Epoxy (natural light)

Pixie Epoxy (artificial light)

Pixie Epoxy is meant for dry eyeshadow application, to be applied before the eyeshadow, and not meant for use with mattes. It is not a foiling medium, like wetlining sealant, nor is it an eyeshadow base, like Too Faced Shadow Insurance or Urban Decay Primer Potion, but a product meant to replicate the foiled look and help sparkly eyeshadows and glitter stick.

I used just a little too much Epoxy in these swatches, but either way they come out very intense and better than foiling (easier to apply, too). Pixie Epoxy does make blending a little more difficult, but I’m sure practice will make it easier.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes!
  • Would I purchase Pixie Epoxy again? I plan on it.
  • Rating? 5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on March 28, 2010.

3 Responses to “Review: Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy”

  1. I really love this stuff! I think I should write a post about it too. I purchased a sample and soon I had to get a full size.

  2. Yay! Yep, that’s why Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy is one of my holy grail items :)

  3. I’ve been meaning to pick up some for the LONGEST time D: I swear I’ll get around to it one day!

Leave a comment