Review: up&up oil-free eye makeup remover (dual layer)

Before Purchase: While at Target, I looked for Clean & Clear’s Soothing Eye Makeup Remover (my review). I couldn’t find it, however, I found the dual-layer up&up eye makeup remover (there is a 4 fl oz, lime green bottle that is a comparison to a L’Oreal eye makeup remover; this one is 5.5 fl oz and light purple) next to Neutrogena’s Oil Free Eye Makeup Remover.

Price: I paid the regular price, $4.54 USD.

Packaging: Once again, it’s in line with other up&up products. The bottle is clear plastic and round, with a white label that features a picture of a cotton round with a mauveish smear of makeup on it. The tagline this time? “Make-up magician.”

Ingredients: Water, cyclopentasiloxane, cyclohexasiloxane, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, benzyl alcohol, sodium chloride, dipropylene glycol, poloxamer 182, allantoin, tripotassium EDTA, benzalkonium chloride, glycerin, cucumber (cucumis sativus) fruit extract, potassium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate.

The Product: I compared the up&up remover with my Clean & Clear remover on four separate occasions, making notes each time.

First trial: the two removers seemed to work the same, smell the same, and feel the same. I did, however, end up going back over the Clean & Clear eye with the up&up remover to get any stubborn make-up. I used Clean & Clear on my right eye, and up&up on my left.

Second trial: I wound up using more Clean & Clear on the cotton round because it just wouldn’t saturate as well. This could be due to the fact that the Clean & Clear bottle is almost empty, however, I haven’t had this problem with the tiny sample-size travel bottle I have of the same remover. The next day I woke up with some mascara residue flaking off of the Clean & Clear eye and onto my face. I used Clean & Clear on my left eye and up&up on my right.

Third trial: it seemed like up&up removed the makeup a little easier/quicker, in spite of my deliberately saturating the Clean & Clear round again. I woke up the next day with a repeat residue issue on the Clean & Clear eye. I used Clean & Clear on my left eye and up&up on my right.

Fourth trial: Once again I deliberately saturated the Clean & Clear round, but still went back over that eye with the up&up. It actually seemed to get some leftover makeup off. I used Clean & Clear on my right eye, and up&up on my left.

Final Thoughts:

  • Was I happy with my purchase? Yes!
  • Would I purchase this up&up eye makeup remover again? Definately.
  • Rating? 5 out of 5 stars.

~ by shatteredshards on February 4, 2011.

Leave a comment